top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Ortiz

To Your (Mental) Health (A Reflection)


As the title implies, this is by no means an advice column. Rather, it's more of a chronicle of my own personal struggles amid the chaos.


Like many people, I've been struggling with keeping my health & well-being afloat during these unprecedented times. While humans crave certainty to help them make sense of the world, the pandemic has provided everything but. Still, I've been forced to adapt, for better or for worse.


Per state and national guidelines, my family and I have been social distancing at home, keeping our travel beyond our property lines to a minimum. First, I'm grateful that we're in a position to work from home, fully knowing that there are countless people who are unable to do so. I worry about these people more than myself, as my students and their families are likely now unemployed, or forced to choose between a paycheck and their health. The sheer thought of someone having to risk their life just to make ends meet makes me sick to my stomach and crushes me emotionally. As much as I wish I could help these people facing hardships, I know the only thing I can do is just help flatten the curb by remaining isolated and reducing the spread of the infection.


Despite all this, I do try to offer my students a sense of normalcy. Online, it's business as usual; assignments are given, feedback delivered, and lines of communication remain fully open. I've had students send me well wishes, advice for homework in other classes, and even had one ask how our dogs are doing. It never ceases to brighten my day.


So, while I do feel confused, frustrated and helpless to enact bigger change, I have my students to thank for keeping me grounded and helping me find my own sense of normalcy throughout all this. I take pride in being able to contribute something that I hope will impact the lives of others.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page